Target 24th Asian Tenpin Bowling Championships Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8
Teams to provide coaching tips

17th September, Hong Kong: Team members of Hong Kong and Australia team will demonstrate the art of bowling and provide coaching tips as part of the Community Activities leading to the Target 24th Asian Tenpin Bowling Championships which will kick off on September 19.

This was announced at a press conference held today at Regal Hongkong Hotel, attended by His Excellency, Sheikh Talal Mohammad Al-Sabah, President of World Bowling and Asian Bowling Federation, Mr Lincoln Yu, Vice-President of the Hong Kong Paralympic Committee & Sports Association for the Physically Disabled and Mrs Laura Ling, BBS, MH., Chairperson of Special Olympics.

Also present were Mr Jim W.L. Muk, Executive Director & Cheif Eceutive Officer of title sponsor, Target Insurance Company Limited, Mr Eddie Poon, Head of Community Relations of the Hong Kong Jockey Club, numerous distinguished guests, members of ABF Executive Commitee and team members of Hong Kong and Australia.

The team members will demonstrate the art of bowling and provide coaching tips to members of Hong Kong Special Olympic Bowling Team, athletes of the Hong Kong Paralympic Committee & Sports Assocaition for the Physically Disabled, students of the Tung Wah Group of Hospitals and the underprivileged children at SCAA Bowling Centre at 2.30 pm.

Group photo of guests, members of Australia and Hong Kong team

Last Saturday on September 10, a Charity Bowling Tournament co-organized by Target, HKTBC and Tung Wah Group of Hospitals entitled "Student All-rounded Development Fund" was also successfully held at SCAA Bowling Centre.

Members of the Australian team are Jarrod Langford, Jayden Leming, Lachlan Merchant and Ashley Warren (men's team) and Dena Buxton, Kaitlyn Commane, Kate Pilkington, Rebecca Voukolos and Rebekah Warren (women's team).

Members of Hong Kong team are Rickle Kam, Lau Kwun Ho, Michael Mak, Eric Tseng, Wu Siu Hong and Wicky Yeung (men's team) and Chan Shuk Han, Joan Cheng, Chloe Lee, Milki Ng, ZOe Tam and Joey Yip (women's team).

For the fifth time, Hong Kong is hosting the championships at South China Athletic Association (SCAA) Bowling Centre from September 18 to 28, 2016. Hong Kong first hosted the bi-annual championship in 1988 and then in 2002, 2008 and 2012.

The championships is funded by the Arts and Sport Development Fund of the Home Affairs Bureau and supported by Leisure and Cultural Services Department. Hong Kong Tenpin Bowling Congress is most fortunate to have Target Insurance Company Limited consenting to be the title sponsor of this championships.

In addidition, the host will also have the financial support of five sponsors, namely Best Leader Financial Group Limited, Glory Sky Group Limited, Goldenway Investments Holdings Limited, Safe Gold Financial Howldings Limited, Acetop Precious Metals Limited as well as numerous official partners.

Sheikh Talal, President of World Bowling and ABF speaking at the press conference

Twenty-four countries and territories comprising of 135 men, 65 women and 79 team officials from Australia, China, DPR Korea, Egypt, Guam, India, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kuwait, Macau, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan and host, Hong Kong.

Teams will compete in Singles, Doubles, Trios, Team of Five, All Events and Masters. There will be a three-hour live broadcast of the Women's and Men's Masters Stepladder finals on Hong Kong NOW TV (Now Sport Station) from 1.00 pm to 4.00 pm on Wednesday, September 28.

The championships will kick off with the Official Parctice in the morning of September 19, followed by the Opening Ceremony at 7.00 pm at SCAA Bowling Centre. The ceremony will be officiated by Mr Karl Kwok, MH, Vice President of Sports Federation and Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China and Mrs Florence Hui, SBS, JP, Acting Secretary for Home Affairs of Home Affairs Bureau.

The first event, Singles will commence on September 20 and will culminate with the prestigious Masters Stepladder Finals on Septmber 28.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Hong Kong.

 Quick Link
Tentative Schedule
Previous Championships
Past Winners
Medal Statistics
Official Invitation Letter
Bulletin 1
Bulletin 2
Bulletin 3
Form A - Participation
Form B - Entry Form
Form C - Bowlers' Info
Form D - Media Accred.
Form E - City Garden
Form F - The Excelsior
Form G - Harbour Grand
Form H - Harbour Plaza
Form I - Regal Hong Kong
Form J - Unoff. Practice
Form - Arrival/Depature
Long Oil Pattern
Medium Oil Pattern
Participating Countries
Organized by
Hosted at
 Copyright © Asian Bowling Federation, 1998 - 2016. All Rights Reserved Hosted and maintained by Netmedia Services