16th Asian Senior Bowling Championships 2022
Simple ceremony marks opening of Asian Senior
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Medal Album | Results

9th November, Petaling Jaya: A simple teams marchpast and parade during the opening ceremony marked the start of the 16th Asian Senior Bowling Championships 2022 co-hosted by Malaysian Tenpin Bowling Congress and Sunway Megalanes.

Australia, Guam, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei and host, Malaysia will be vying for glory when the competition commences on Thursday 10th November.

Attending the opening were Mr Steve Robles, Vice President of Asian Bowling Council (ASBC) and Exco Member of Asian Bowling Federation, Mr Tomokatsu Yamashita, secretary of the ASBC, Ms Kitty Baek, International Championships Co-ordinator for ASBC.

Ms Michelle Wong, Assistant Tournament Director acting as emcee for the opening ceremony, introduced te distinguished guests before welcoming all the participating teams. A total of 89 Men's Senior (50+), 60 Men's Grand Senior (65+), 56 Women's Senior (50+) and 47 Women's Grand Senior (65+) are registered for the championships.

Mr Tomokatsu Yamashita, Asian Senior Bowling Council secretary delivering his speech during the opening

Mr Yamashita, on behalf of the President of ASBC, delivered a speech to the teams and officials present at the ceremony. The teams, officials and guests were invited to a small buffett after the ceremony.

Earlier in the day, the official practice sessions, divided into three squads, were held to allow the palyers to get use to the oling patterns and the lane conditions at Sunway Megalanes before competition commences proper.

In the moring, team managers attended the technical meeting chaired by the tournament director, Mr Y.K. Choo, assisted by Ms Michelle Wong and Mr Terence Yaw, a mamber of the tournament committee. The three-member commttee will be responsble fot eh smooth running of the championships.

The President, with consultation with MTBC, has appointed Mr Tomokatsu Yamashita, Mr Maradona Chok, MTBC secretary general and Mr William Chua, Singapore Bowling Federation Executive Director as Jury of Appeal.

The championships will kick off with the Men's Senior 50+ taking to the lanes for their 6-games Singles, in a single squad while the Men's Grand Senior 65+, Women Senior 50+ and Women's Grand Senior 65+ will contest their Singles, divided into two squads.

The Doubles will be held on November 11, the Team of 4 over two blocks of 3 games each on November 12. The top 16 in the All-Events standings, based on the 18 games total contested over the three events will qualify for the Round-Robin Matchplay Masters Finals on November 19.

Only four from each participating country in their respective divisions are eligible for the Masters Finals. Live scores and live video streaming will be made available throughout the championships.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Petaling Jaya.

| Back |