17th Kaohsiung International Open Bowling Championships
Hong Kong bowlers rule qualifying
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

6th July, Kaohsiung: Hong Kong national bowlers continued to rule the lanes at the 17th Kaohsiung International Open Bowling Championships as overnight leader, Wu Siu Hong remain in the lead of the Men's Open Masters qualifying standings joined by compatriot, Eric Tseng in second.

Tseng, who was in eigth position, leapfrog into second spot after improving his six-games tally to 1255. Wu remained firmly in first position with 1308. Three more Hong Kong nationals, Mike Chan, Wicky Yeung and Tony Wong have qualified in fifth, sixth and eighth spots.

There were no changes atop the local pool with Tsai Yin-Hao leading with 1407. Tao Kua-Wei and Chen Chein-Wu occupied second and third spots with 1357 and 1350 respectively.

The current cut in the overseas pool is held by newly-crowned Youth Open Masters champion, Xavier Teo of Singapore with 1203. The mixed pool is totally dominated by Taiwanese taking up all eleven spots.

Eric Tseng joining team-mate Wu Siu Hong

Chen Chang-Yen headed the mixed pool with 1302 while the cut in 11th position is held by Chen Ying-Hsien with 1252. Any overseas qualifiers dropping out will not even make the mixed pool. There will be a one-game desperado squad to be held at the end of the last qualifying squad late tonight. The top 3 highest scorers will make the Masters finals.

Meanwhile, Bianca Tofilou of New Zealand also remained unbeaten in the ladies' division. She hold ttop spot since the start of the qualifying round with 1238. Two-time ABF Tour Tournament of Champions winner, Chan Shuk Han of Hong Kong improved to take up second position with 1207.

2009 Asian Youth Games Doubles gold medallist, Natthida Sertluecha of Thailand also improved to third with 1191 while 2017 ABF Tour Macau leg second runner-up, Filomena Choi of Macau and Anglea Boswell of New Zeland completed the top five with 1180 and 1155 respectively.

In the earlier Senior Masters finals, 60-year-old Chang Chiang-Lung captured title after amassing a total of 1672 with a handicap of five pins per game. Hong Lian-Xing took second spot with 1629 with 10 pins handicap per game.

2010 Indonesia Open champion, Hsieh Chin-Liang stormed home with three superb games of 215, 218 and 203 to snatch third spot with 1621. Chang won NT$30,000 (approx. US$1,000) as champion. Hong and Hsieh earned NT$15,000 and NT$10,000 respectively as runners-up.

Chan Shuk Han occupying second spot in the overseas pool

Photos by Terence Yaw in Kaohsiung.

| Back |