18th Asian School Tenpin Bowling Championships
Asian School returns to Malaysia
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Medal Album

11th November, Kuching: The 18th Asian School Tenpin Bowling Championships returned to Malaysia after a seven-year break, hosted by Amatuer Bowling Association of Sarawak with a total of ten countries comprising of 63 boys and 28 girls taking part.

Singapore and host, Malaysia have two boys and two girls teams, Australia and Philippines have two boys teams and one girls team while Hong Kong and Saudi Arabia have two boys teams. Chinese Taipei sent one boys and one girls team. India and Kuwait have one boys team each.

Team officials finalised their final teams line up at the managers meeting chaired by tournament director, Dr Danny Santos assisted by Mr George Tan, host tournament manager for the championships.

The meeting went through the tournament schedule, rules and regulations and the oiling pattern to be used for this championships.

Dr Danny Santos and Mr George Tan conduting the meeting

Mr Tan extended a warm welcome on behalf of the organising committee and thank the team officials for their support in sending teams to this championships, hosted for the first time by the Amatuer Bowling Association of Sarawak and supported by Malaysian Tenpin Bowling Congress and the gorvernment of the State of Sarawak.

Four events will be contested comprising of Singles, Doubles, Team of Four and Masters. The top 16 boys and top 16 girls in the All Events standings after 18 games played will qualify for the Round-Robin Matchplay Masters finals to be held over two blocks of eight games each.

The top 3 boys and top 3 girls at the end of the Masters finals will advance to the stepladder shootout finals. The official practice is scheduled for tomorrow (November 12) followed by the official opening ceremony to be held at Megalanes Sarawak thereafter.

November 13 will kick off the championships with the Singles, followed by the Doubles on November 14. The Team of Four will be held on November 15 over two blocks of three games each while the Masters finals will be staged on November 16 and 17 culminating with the stepladder finals.

The victory banquet, to be hosted by Amatuer Bowling Association of Sarawak will conclude the week-long championships.

Team officials at the meeting

Photos by Daniel Winardi in Kuching, Sarawak.

Related stories:
Participating Cities

| Back |