45th MWA-Singha Thailand International Open
Malaysians continue to rule after second block
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

13th April, Bangkok: Malaysian bowlers continued to rule the qualifying rounds of the 45th MWA-Singha Thailand International Open after the second block as Tun Hakim retained his lead in the Men's division and Nerosha Keligit took over top spot in the women's division.

Hakim added a second block series of 1199 to his first series of 1174 to retain his lead with 2373 after topping Squad A. 2018 MILO International All-Stars "the Masters" first runner-up, Ahmad Aidil, who topped Squad D with 2256, took over second spot.

Ahmad Muaz gave Malaysia a 1-2-3 finish by claiming third spot with 2240. The top 3 local qualifiers will earn a bye and automatically advance to Round 3 finals. 2012 Thailand Open champion, Surasak Manuwong led the local pool with 2176.

2017 PBA-WBT Thailand World Bowling Tour champion, Yannaphon Larpapharat leapfrog into second spot with an improved 2125 while Atchariya Cheng claimed third spot with 2087. Squad C leader, Ernest Kwok of Hong Kong headed the mixed pool with 2200.

Block 2 overall leaders, Tun Hakim and Nerosha Keligit

Muhd Nur Aiman, who topped Squad D in the first block, managed only 1028 to slip down to tenth with 2162. The cut at 26th position went to last night Squad C leader, James Lui of Hong Kong with 2043.

Meanwhile, the lead in the Women's standings changed hands but remained dominated by Malaysia. Nerosha Keligit took over the lead with 2170 after registering the highest second 5-game series of 1103.

Overnight leader, Sin Li Jane slipped down to second with 2115 after managing only 968 in the second block from an impressive 1147 in the first block. 2017 SEA Games Masters gold medallist, Shalin Zulkifli leapfrog into third with 2039 after an inspiring 1051 in the second block.

Thanchanok Vilailak took over the lead in the local pool with 1943 with Khattiya Ngoenkham and Kantaporn Singhabubpha occupying second and third positions with 1915 and 1891. Overnight leader, Yanee Saebe dropped down to 21st position in the mixed pool.

The top 3 overseas and top 3 local qualifiers will earn a bye and skip Round 2 finals to advance directly into Round 3 finals. Syaidatul Afifah of Malaysia headed the mixed pool with 2108 while the cut in 22nd position went to Nur Amirah Auni of Malaysia with 1836.

Top local leaders, Surasak Manuwong and Thanchanok Vilailak

The bowlers will resume their third and final block of five games in the order of Squad C, D, A and B. Men's Open qualifiers positioned 7 to 26 plus 4 from Desperado (24 bowlers) and Women's Open qualifiers positioned 7 to 22 plus 4 from Desperado (20 bowlers) will contest Round 2 finals on April 15.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Bangkok, Thailand.

| Back |