47th MWA-Singha Thailand International Open
Korean, Malaysian ends qualifying in pole
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Results

28th July, Bangkok: Overnight leaders, Hong Hae Sol of Incheon, Korea and Sin Li Jane of Malaysia ended the third block of qualifying rounds of the 47th MWA-Singha Thailand International Open in pole positions.

Hong, who topped the Men's Open overall standings with 2303 after the second block last night, notched up a stunning 1223 5-game series in the third block of Squad D to seal top spot with 3526. Ahmad Aidil of Malaysia led Squad B in his third block to take up second with 3439.

A second Malaysian, Ahmad Muaz amassed 3408 in Squad A to finish third and made the top 3 bracket. Hong, Aidil and Muaz will automatically advance into Round 3 finals tomorrow. Jordan Dinham of Philippines missed the top 3 by 66 pins to head the mixed pool with 3342 in seventh.

Two-time Thailand Open champion, Yannaphon Larpapharat led the top 3 local pool qualifiers with 3333. Day 1 leader, Putana Buspanikonkul finished second with 3330 and 2012 Thailand Open champion, Surasak Manuwong took third spot with 3298.

Hong Hae Sol and Sin Li Jane topping the overall standings

Some of the big movers from lowly positions after the second block were Malaysia's Muhammad Syazirol taking up eighth with 3322, Korea's Oh Byung Jun in ninth with 3312 and Hong Kong's Michael Mak completing the top 10 with 3297.

The cut in 26th position of the mixed pool went to 2022 SEA Games Team gold medallist, Ivan Malig of Philippines with 3194, averaging 212.93. Ben Pettit of New Zealand missed the cut by 8 pins on 3186.

A total of 72 men took part in the one-game desperado squad held after the completion of the third block. Chen Chen Hsuan of Chinese Taipei topped the squad with 268. Chanathip Prempree of Thailand, Zephyr Liew of Singapore and Zach Ramin of Philippines made the Round 2 finals with 258, 234 and 229 respectively.

In the women's division, overnight leader Sin Li Jane of Malaysia, was unchallenged at the completion of the third block. The four-time Singapore Open champion totaled a whopping 3453 pinfalls to remain in pole position.

Squad D leader, Jung Da Wun of Daejeon, Korea settled for second position with 3311, 142 pins adrift while Charmaine Chang of Singapore held on to third with 3253. The top 3 overseas pool qualifiers earned a bye and advanced to Round 3 finals.

Charwakorn Wutti, defending champion, Ramita Sarntong and 2016 Thailand Open Women's champion, Yanee Saebe were the top 3 local qulifiers with 2910, 2884 and 2854 respectively. The trio will also skip Round 2 and automatically advance to Round 3.

Oh Si Ra of Daejeon, Korea missed the top 3 by 16 pins to head the mixed pool with 3237 while Squad B third block leader, Nora Lyana Nastasia of Malaysia finished eighth with 3233. The cut in 20th position went to Jermaine Seah of Singapore with 3036, averaging 202.40.

Top local pool qualifiers, Yannaphon Larpapharat and Chawakorn Wutti of Thailand

here were 24 women in the desperado squad in which Wang Yu Huei of Chinese Taipei topped with 247. Natasha Roslan of Malaysia, Nadia Pramanik of Indonesia and Amabel CHua of Singapore qualified with 224, 220 and 219.

Men's Open qualifiers positioned 7 to 26 plus the 4 from the desperado squad and the Women's Open qualifiers positioned 7 to 20 plus the 4 from desperado squad will bowl 6 games in Round 2 finals tomorrow.

The top 12 men and top 9 women with the highest pinfalls at the end of Round 2 along with the six seeded men and six seeded women qualifiers, will advance to Round 3 finals for another 6 games. The top 6 men and top 6 women will proceed to the Stepladder Finals.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Bangkok, Thailand.

| Back |