ABF Tour Hong Kong 2018
Indonesian captures tenth tour title

1st July, Hong Kong: 2018 ABF Tour Macau first runner-up, Ryan Lalisang of Indonesia made amends to capture his tenth tour title with victory in the Men's final of the ABF Tour Hong Kong leg while Chang Yu Hsuan clinched Chinese Taipei's third women title.

Challenger and tour debutant, Sultan Almasri of Saudi Arabia had a better start in the final match against Lalisang with a strike in his opening frame but the Indonesian immediately drew level with a strike in the second frame.

Whilst the 20-year-old Saudi could not find a strike through to the sixth frame, Lalisang managed three strikes in alternating frame to take a 24 pins lead up to the sixth frame.

Almasri, in trying to emulate his compatriot, Ammar Tarrad in winning last year's leg, responded with a double in the seventh and eighth frames but Lalisang also downed two strikes in the eighth and ninth frames to maintain his slender lead.

The 37-year-old Indonesian spared his final frame to seal his tenth tour title with a 245-230 victory over Almasri. The champion had to work hard for his place in the final after narrowly defeating 2018 PBA-WBT Busan Cup champion, Annop Arromsaranon of Thailand, 276-265 in the first semi-final match.

Champions, Ryan Lalisang and Chang Yu Hsuan with their trophies

Lalisang breezed past another debutant, Kenneth Chua of Philippines, 256-222 in the second round after an easy victory over team-mate, Billy Muhammad Islam, 266-234 in the opening round. Almasri also had to work hard when he edged local favourite, Michael Mak of Hong by one pin in the other semi-final match.

He first took out another Hong Kong national Tony Wong, 235-209 in Round 1 and Mostafa Almousawi of Kuwait, 241-210 in Round 2 to advance to the semi-finals. Newly-crowned Hong Kong Open champion, Wu Siu Hong of Hong Kong crashed out after losing to team-mate, James Lui, 231-259 in the first round.

Hong Kong Open first runner-up, Hassan Alshaikh of Saudi Arabia was also eliminated in the opening round when he lost to Malaysia's Shahrukh Amin, 211-257. Lalisang picked up a trophy and the top prize of US$500 with Almasri taking home US$300. Arromsaranon and Mak earned US$150 each.

Tenth tour title for Ryan Lalisang

In the women's division, Chang Yu Hsuan denied newly-crowned Hong Kong Open champion her double victory after she edged Yanee Saebe of Thailand, 203-195 with a strike in the final frame giving Chinese Taipei their third women's tour title.

The 26-year-old champion sailed past Pan Yu Fen, 242-180 in the first all-Taiwanese semi-final match. Chang also easily dispatched Hong Kong's Chan Shuk Han, 245-167 in the second round and Malaysia's Sharon Koh, 223-200 in the opening round.

Yanee snatched victory over Malaysia's Radin Nu Najwa, 235-222 after trailing for most of the other semi-final match. She defeated Indonesia's Sharon Limansantoso, 235-230 in Round 2 and Filipina, Liza Del Rosario, 265-192 in Round 1.

Chang pocketed US$500 and a trophy for her win while Yanee settled for US$300 as first runner-up. Radin and Pan took home US$150 each as second and third runners-up. Ms Vivien Lau, ABF Tour Chairman and World Bowling Secretary General was on had to present the trophies and prizes to the winners.

First tour title for Chang Yu Hsuan and third women title for Chinese Taipei

The ABF Tour Hong Kong 2018 leg is the third of four legs staged in East Asia this year with the official host broadcaster, Cable TV providing live TV coverage from SCAA Bowling Centre to several countries in Asia.

The fourth and final leg of this year's ABF Tour will be staged on July 8 at Southern Bowling Center after the Koahsiung International Open Bowling Championships which will held from July 2 to 7, 2018. For further information and details, please contact ABF Tour Committee at Tel: +852 2893 6039, Fax: +852 2893 6290; Email: hktbc@netvigator.com.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Hong Kong, China.

| Back |