20th Asian School Tenpin Bowling Championships
Colourful ceremony marks opening
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Medal Album

7th July, Hong Kong: A colourful and traditional ceremony graced by Mr Karl C Kwok, MH, Vice President of Sports Federation and Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China, marked the opening of the 20th Asian School Tenpin Bowling Championbships held at SCAA Bowling Centre on Sunday.

The ceremony was also attended by Mrs Cherry Tse Ling Kit Ching, JP, Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr David Kung, Honorary Life President of HKTBC, Mr Jeff Kong, President of HKTBC, Mr Duffy Wong, BBS, JP, Vice President of SCAA.

Also present were dignitaries and distinguished guests Mrs Helen Shum, Vice Chairman of HKTBC, Dr Trisha Leahy, CEO of HKSI, H.E. Mohammed Sultan Al Kuwari, Consulate General of the State of Qatar, Mr Talal Al Hrbi, Deputy Consul General of Saudi Arabia and Mr Moosa Almaimani, Head of Delegation of Oman Bowling Federation.

Other guests included Mr Bandar Al Shafi, Executive Committee Member of ABF, Mr Alexander Lim, Head of Delegation and Executive Committee Member of ABF, Ms Emba Leung, Hon. Secretary of ABF and HKTBC, Mr Winston Chan, Hon. Auditor of ABF and Dr Danny Santos, Tournament Director.

Guest of Honour, Mr Karl Kwok and distinguished guests dotting the lion's eyes

Mr Eric Lee, emcee for the ceremony, welcomed all present and kick off proceedings by introducing the guests of honour, dignitaries, distinguished guests and Committee Members of ABF before announcing the march past of 14 participating countries.

Speeches started off with the Organizing Chairman, Ms Vivien Lau, BBS, JP, Chairman of HKTBC, Honorary Life President of ABF and Secretary General of World Bowling thanking the guest of honour, generous sponsors and supporting partners for their support of this championship.

She also expressed gratitude to the support and confidence given to HKTBC by Asian Bowling Federation for hosting the championships for the sixth time. Ms Lau also thank the participating countries, especially with the largest-ever turnout of countries from the Middle East, for their support.

Mr Karl Kwok followed by delivering his speech by wishing all the players the best of luck in their quest for glory and to win honours for their countries. Mrs Cherry Tse then concluded the speeches with her message of encouragement and the support of the participating countries.

Natalie Wong and Alex Yu, team members of host nationa, Hong Kong took the athlete oath on behalf of all the players while Leung Yuet Ming, Chief Lane Marshall too the oath on behalf of tournament officials.

A total of 80 boys and 42 girls from 14 countries from Asia will be vying for honours. Four events will be contested consisting of Singles, Doubles, Tean of 4 and Masters Finals.

Teams assembled at SCAA after their march past

The top 16 boys and top 16 girls based on their standings in the All-Events (after 18 games played) will qualify for the Round-Robin Matchplay Masters finals to be held over two blocks of eight game each. The top 3 boys and top 3 girls with the highest pinfalls at the end of the Masters finals will procedd to the Stepladder shootout finals. The official practice was held earlier in the day.

Competition will kick off with the Singles (July 8), Doubles (July 9), Team of 4 (July 10) and the Masters finals (July 11 and 12) culminating to the Stepladder finals. Only medals won by A Teams will count towards the boys, girls and overall champion title. A victory banquet will also be hosted by HKTBC at KITEC, E-Max in Kowloon Bay on July 12 commencing at 7.00pm local time.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Hong Kong.

| Back |