22nd Asian Junior Tenpin Bowling Championships
22nd Asian Junior officially opens
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Medal Album | Results

20th August, Singapore: Thirteen countries comprising of 80 boys and 49 girls paraded in front of dignitaries and distinguished guests at Singapore Bowling @ Rifle Range during the official opening ceremony of the 22nd Asian Junior Tenpin Bowling Championships.

Among the dignitaries were Ms Vivien Lau, SBS, JP., Honorary Life President of Asian Bowling Federation, Dr Valerie Teo, President of host, Singapore Bowling Federation, Mr Tan ZhiQiang, Vice President of SBF and Ms Dorothy Tay, Honorary Secretary of SBF.

Dignitaries present were Mr Gerald Tan, Council Member of SBF, Mr Edwin Teoh, Head of Marketing, Singapore Operations, Canon Singapore, Mr Dennis Ng, General Manager of Select Group, Mr Cheng Khing Kam, Managing Director of Khingdom, Mr A.K. Yong, Managing Director of Leyon Trading and Mr Song He Rice-Max Ng, Operations Diretor of Tong Seng Produce Pte Ltd.

Emcee, Ms Jazreel Tan kicked off the opening proceedings with the introduction of the dignitaries and distinguished guests before announcing the parade of firstly, ABF flag bearers followed by each of the particiating countries.

Thirteen countries paraded during the official opening ceremony

Lim Wan Ling and Oliver Khoo of Team Singapore, took the athletes' oath on behalf of all participants while Mr Kristijonas Sergojovas, Technical Delegate and Dr Danny Santo, Tournament Director took the oath on behlaf of the tournament officials.

Dr Valerie Teo then took to the rostrum to deliver her speech by first welcoming all athletes and officials taking part in this year's championships and also thanked Asian Bowling Federation for awarding the championships to SBF.

She also took the opportunity to highlight the fact that the inaugural Asian Junior Championships was held in Singapore in 1998, 25 years ago which she fondly remembered having taken part in that event and winning Masters gold, Singles silver and All-Events bronze medal.

Ms Vivien Lau delivered the speech on behalf of Sheikh Talal Mohammed Al-Sabah, President of IBF and ABF and seeked apologies for not being here with the athletes and team officials here in Singapore.

With a photography session that followed after the speeches, the dignitaries, distinguished guests, athletes and team officials sampled the hawker-style Singapore food at the welcome reception hosted by SBF thereby concluding the opening ceremony.

Dr Valerie Teo dlivering her speech at the opening

Competition will kick off with the Singles event on Monday, August 21 followed by the Doubles on August 22. The Team event will be contested on August 23. The top 16 boys and top 16 girls based on their standings in the All-Events (18 games) will qualify for the Masters Finals.

The Round-Robin Matchplay Masters Finals will be contested over two days (8 games in Block 1 and 8 games in Block 2) on August 24 and 25. The top 3 boys and top 3 girls after the two blocks will proceed to the Stepladder Shootout finals.

Live video streaming thoughout the championships will be featured starting with the opening ceremony, official practice, Singles, Doubles, Team and Masters Finals through to the Stepladder Shootout.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Singapore.

| Back |