21st Asian Youth Tenpin Bowling Championships
Seventeen countries vying for glory
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Medal Album | Results

4th July, Bangkok: Sixty-six boys and forty-one girls from seventeen Asian countries will be vying for glory when the 21st Asian Youth Tenpin Bowling Championships gets underway on July 6 at Blu-O Rhythm & Bowl Ratchayothin, Bangkok.

Team officials from Australia, China, Hong Kong, Korea, Kuwait, Macau, Malaysia, New Zealand, Oman, Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Vietnam and host Thailand attended the managers' meeting graced by the Honorary Life President of ABF, Ms Vivien Lau, SBS, JP., representing Sheikh Talal Mohammed Al-Sabah, President of ABF.

Also at the head table were members of the Tournament Committee, Dr Danny Santos, Tournament Director, Mr Arun Supaterawet and Mr Mike Seymour, Host Tournament Co-Ordinators and Mr Kristijonas Sergojovas, Technical Delegate from Kegel Inc.

Ten countries have entered full 4 boys and 4 girls teams, Macau and Thailand have 4 boys and 2 girls teams, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia have 4 boys teams only while Hong Kong has 4 boys and 1 girl and Oman 2 boys team.

Tournament Committee members at the head table

Ms Vivien Lau delivered the welcome speech on behalf of Sheikh Talal, thanking all participating countries for their support in sending teams to this championships. Sheikh Talal had appointed Ms Vivien Lau, Ms Suwalai Satrulee (TTBA secretary general and ABF Vice President) and Mr Bandar Al-Shafi (Qatar Bowling Federation secretary generaal and ABF Excecutive Member) as members of the Jury of Appeal.

Dr Santos kicked off the meeting with a roll call before going through the technical aspects of the championships which included rules and regulations, lane draws and the tournament schedule.

Mr Sergojovas outlined the oiling pattern used for the championships including rules on ball registrations and its submissions. Several countries submitted changes to the entries made before the meeting while some had minor spelling changes of their players.

An official opening ceremony will be held on July 5 at 10.00am local time at Blu-O Rhythm & Bowl, Ratchayothin, Bangkok attended by numerous government dignitaries and sponsors. This will be followed by a welcome reception hosted by Thai Tenpin Bowling Association. Official practice sessions, divided into two squads will be held after the opening ceremony.

Competition will kick off with the Singles on July 6 and 7 over three squads. The Doubles on July 7 and 8 over three squads. Team events of two blocks of 3 games each will be staged on July 9 and 10. The top 16 boys and top 16 girls based on the total pinfalls from the three events will qualify for the Masters Finals to be contested over two blocks of 8 games on July 11 and 12.

Ms Vivien Lau delivering her welcome speech on behalf of Sheikh Talal

The top 3 boys and top 3 girls with the highest pinfalls in the Masters Finals will proceed to the Stepladder Finals to determine the Masters champions. Trophies will also be awarded to the overall girls champion, overall boys champion and Overall champion based on the medals won by each country. ABF will feature live video streaming of the opening ceremony, official practice sessions and all the four events contested from July 5 to 12.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Bangkok, Thailand.

| Back |