21st Asian Youth Tenpin Bowling Championships
Chinese Taipei, Korea captures first gold
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Medal Album | Results

7th July, Bangkok: Lan Shao-Kang of Chinese Taipei and Choi Yurin of Korea captured their first gold medals at the 21st Asian Youth Tenpin Bowling Championships with victory in the Boy's and Girl's Singles event.

Lan, who won three gold medals at last year's Asian Junior Championships found his happy hunting ground at Blu-O Rhythm & Bowl when he overhauled overnight leader from the two combined Singles squads, Vilinkorn Kladkaaew of Thailand to win the gold medal.

The Taiwanese two-hander had a fabulous start with 262 in his opening game in the third squad but had to settle for second, four pins behind Hong Kong's Daniel Tse, who shot 266 for the lead. Lan continued his hot pace by reeling in 233, 225, 199 and 267 in his next four games to open up 40-pin lead.

Malaysia's Muhammad Hariz Adlan Azman, who picked up second spot after the third game, continued to trail the leader with 194, 255, 236 and 257 from the second game onwards. Although the Malaysian ended better than Lan, he had enough of a cushion to seal the victory with 1362.

Boy's Singles medallists, Muhammad Hariz Adlan, Lan Shao Kang, Vilinkorn Kladkaew and Mike Ong

Muhammad Hariz also managed to beat the overnight leader for the silver medal with 1349. Mike Ong of Singapore, who finished third in the this squad tied with Vilinkorn for the bronze medal with 1329. Artegal Barrientos of the Philippines finished fourth in but missed the podium by 24 pins to take up fifth while Squad 2 leader, Blake Walsh of Australia was pushed down to sixth.

In the girl's division, Arianne Tay of Singapore led from the first game of the third squad up to the third game but Choi took over the running after the fourth game. Chinese Taipei's Teng Jo Yu and a second Korean, Park Sunwoo occupied second spots briefly.

Tay bounced back to regain the lead after the fifth game but ended the sixth game with 173. Choi snatched top spot with 197 to capture Korea' first gold medal with 1236. The Singaporean settled for the silver with 1227.

Overnight leader, Hannah Clark of Australia clinched the bronze medal with 1222 posted in yesterday's second squad while her compatriot, Emily Hart was pushed off the podium after slipping down to fourth.

Mr Jeong Suk, President of Korea Bowling Congress was on hand to present the medals to the winners while Mr Veerayut Jomjailek, Committee Member of Thai Tenpin Bowling Association presented the mascot pins.

Girl's Singles medallists, Arianne Tay, Choi Yurin and Hannah Clark

The Doubles Squad 1 will be contested after medal ceremony and lane maintenance. The second and third squads will be held at 9.00am and 1.30pm respectively tomorrow. The top 3 girls and top 3 boys doubles pairs will be awarded the medals.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Bangkok, Thailand.

| Back |