Welcome to abf-online.org Link to WTBA 
Home About ABF Our Affiliates News & Results Calendar Asian Ranking Guestbook
    only search this site  
News & Results Title
ABF News Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7
Hong Kong ready for challenge

31st August, Hong Kong: Hong Kong national bowlers, led by reigning All Events Gold medalist, Wu Siu Hong, are all geared up to challenge for glory at the 22nd Asian Tenpin Bowling Championships which will get underway at the HK Bowling City on September 2.

22nd Asian Championships logo

Hong Kong will be hosting the Asian Tenpin Bowling Championships for the fourth time following the first in 1988, second in 2002 and third in 2008. The biennial event has attracted 215 bowlers and 84 officials from 23 countries.

They include Australia, Bahrain, China, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, South Korea, Kuwait, Macau (China), Malaysia, New Zealand, People's Republic of Korea (PRK), Philippines, Qatar, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan and host, Hong Kong (China).

128 men and 87 women will be vying for glory in Singles, Doubes, Trios, 5-player Team, All Events and Masters for six gold medals in the men and women divisions respectively.

Group Photo
VIPs with the Hong Kong national team

Home team, Hong Kong will be led by reigning All Events and 2008 Masters gold medalist, Wu Siu Hong together with 2008 Doubles gold medalist, Eric Tseng Tak Hin. Wu, who is the only bowler to have won the Hong Kong Open three times, is also the reigning AMF Australian Masters champion.

Joining the duo are 2010 Asian Youth Masters gold medalist, Michael Mak Cheuk Yin as well as 2010 Guangzhou Asian Games Team bronze medalist, Wicky Yeung Wai Ki. 2009 ABF Tour Macau champion, Michael Tsang Pak Kei and 2010 ABF Tour Macau champion, Joshua Chow Hoi Leung are the remaining two in the 6-men team, thus providing a formidable force.

In the women's side, the 6-women team will be led by two-time Asian Ranked No. 1 and 2009 Hong Kong Open champion, Chan Shu Han. Apart from Chan, two other seasoned campaigners, Milki Ng Tsz Yin and Zoe Tam Shun Yee will add strength to an otherwise new team.

Making their debut for Hong Kong are Sonia Ho Sze Yui, Victoria Chan Chee Yan and Christine Cheung Ka Wai. The championships will provide a good avenue to gauge their ability at senior level since moving up from the youth rank.

Among the top calibre medal contenders are three-time and current Asian Ranked No. 1 and 2010 Hong Kong Open champion, Hussain Al Suwaidi of UAE, 2008 Asian Championships Masters gold medalist, Adrian Ang and two-time Malaysian Open champion, Zulmazran Zulkifli, both from Malaysia.

The mighty South Koreans are probably the strongest medal contenders at this year's event with the likes of 2010 Guangzhou Asian Games Team gold medalist and champion of two international open - Singapore Open and Daejeon Open, Hong Hae Sol.

Joining him are 2009 AMF World Cup champion, Choi Yong-Kyu, 2010 Thailand Open champion, Lee Ik-Kyu, reigning Singles gold medalist, Cho Young Seon, Choun Jae Woo and Lim Dong Sung making up Korea's six men.

In the women's division, facied Singapore bowlers - current Asian Ranked No. 1, Jazreel Tan, 2010 Guangzhou Asian Games Trios gold medalist, 2011 World Women's Championships silver medalist and 2012 IBC champion, Cherie Tan and 2010 Hong Kong Open champion, Shayna Ng.

They will, of course face stiff competition from South Korea and Malaysia. Heading the Koreans are multiple gold medalists in three previous championships, Gye Min Young, Jeon Eun Hee and 2012 Singapore Open champion, Jung Da Wun.

Malaysian challengers are three-time Hong Kong Open champion, Shalin Zulkifli, 2012 Hong Kong Open and 2012 Daejeon Open champion, Esther Cheah, two-time Malaysian Open champion, Zandra Aziela and 2011 World Women's Championships Singles gold medalist, Jaquelene Sijore.

With such a colourful list of top Asian bowlers in the championships, it promises to be an exciting event not to be missed. The 22nd edition will kick off with the official practice on Monday, September 3 followed by the opening ceremony in the evening.

Mr Raymond Young Lap Moon, JP, Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs of the Homg Affairs Bureau and Mr Victor Hui Chun Fui, GBS, JP, Vice-President of Sports Federation & Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China will officiate the opening ceremony at 7.00pm at HK Bowling City.

The auspicious occassion will also be attended by His Highness, Sheikh Talal Mohammad Al-Sabah, President of Asian Bowling Federation and Mr Kevin Dornberger, President of the World Tenpin Bowling Association & FIQ.

The 22nd Asian Bowling Federation General Assembly, scheduled for September 2, will also coincide with the championships. The Team Managers meeting will be held later in the evening during which time, team officials will finalise their players' line up.

Photos courtesy of HKTBC.

Copyright © Asian Bowling Federation, 1998 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.
| Terms of Use | Privacy Policy |
Hosted and maintained by NetMedia Services
Quick Link
Previous Championships
Past Winners
Bulletin 1
Bulletin 2
Bulletin 3
Bulletin 4
Invitation Letter
Form A - Participation
Form B - Entry Form
Form C - Bowlers' Info
Form D - Media Acc.
Form E - Metropark
Form F - Regal Kowloon
Form G - Royal Plaza
Form H - Unoff. Practice
Participating Countries
Medium Oil Pattern
Short Oil Pattern
Airport Pickup
More Photos
Team Photos
Medal Presentation
Detailed Scores
 SINGLES - Short
Women Squad 1
Women Squad 2
Women Squad 3
Women Combined
Men Squad 1
Men Squad 2
Men Squad 3
Men Combined
 DOUBLES - Medium
Women Squad 1
Women Squad 2
Women Squad 3
Women Combined
Men Squad 1
Men Squad 2
Men Squad 3
Men Combined
 TRIOS - Medium/Short
Women Block 1 Squad 1
Women Block 1 Squad 2
Women Block 1 Combined
Men Block 1 Squad 1
Men Block 1 Squad 2
Men Block 1 Combined
Women Block 2 Squad 2
Women Block 2 Squad 1
Women Block 2 Combined
Men Block 2 Squad 2
Men Block 2 Squad 1
Men Block 2 Combined
 TEAM - Short/Medium
Women Block 1
Men Block 1
Women Block 2
Men Block 2
Women All Events
Men All-Events
 MASTERS - Medium/Short
Women Block 1
Men Block 1
Women Block 2
Men Block 2
Women Semi & Final
Men Semi & Final
Women Medals
Men Medals
Overall Medals
ABF Logo
Organized by
Hosted at
Visit Hong Kong Bowling City website