Welcome to abf-online.org Link to WTBA 
Home About ABF Our Affiliates News & Results Calendar Asian Ranking Guestbook
    only search this site  
News & Results Title
ABF News | Photo Album |
Kuwaiti retains post for third term

2nd September, Hong Kong: Incumbent, Sheikh Talal Mohammad Al-Sabah of Kuwait retained the Asian Bowling Federation president's position for a third four-year term unchallenged at the 22nd ABF General Assembly held at Emax on Sunday morning.

For a second consecutive general assembly held under the leadership of Sheikh Talal, the 22nd General Assembly went smoothly without any major issues raised. President of Kuwait Bowling Federation, Shiekh Talal was returned as president for a third four-year term.

Two nominations were received for the Vice President position for Far East Region - Mr Li Dazheng of the Chinese Bowling Association and Mr Choi Jang-Kyu of Korea Bowling Congress.

But before elections could tkae place, Mr Li gracefully withdrew his nomination citing that since he was new to the bowling fraternity and after observing the unity and harmony of ABF, he felt that Mr Choi was more appropriate to have the position with his experience and better knowledge of bowling.

Sheikh Talal
Sheikh Talal flanked by Kevin Dornberger and Vivien Lau

This was especially important for ABF as Korea would be hosting the 4th Asian Indoor & Martial Arts Games in 2013 and the 17th Asian Games in 2014, both in Korea.

Hence Mr Choi became the new-elected Vice President for Far East Region replacing the out-going Mr Cu Zhi Qiang of China. Only one nomination each were received for South East Region, Western Region and Oceania Region.

Mrs Suwalai Satrulee of Thai Tenpin Bowling Association was elected the new Vice President for South East Region replacing the out-going Dr Danny Santos.

Mr Layth Tommy Thomas of Iraqi Bowling Federation was elected the Vice President of Western Region replacing the out-going Mr Mohammed A. Alkhaja of the Emirates Bowling Federation.

And Mr Michael Syemour of Tenpin Bowling Australia Limited and Vice President of WTBA was elected the new Vice President for Oceania Region replacing the out-going Mr Andrew Frawley.

Exco Members
Executive committee members of the 2012-2016 term
Incumbent Executive members, Mr Farouk Haridi (Egyptian Bowling Federation), Mr Fong Wun Man (Macau China Bowling Association) and Mr Takaya Aizawa (Japan Bowling Congress were returned for another four-year term while Mr Fareed Taha (Bahrain Bowling Association) and Mr Oky Harwanto Joedo (Persatuan Boling Indonesia) were the two newly-elected board members.

Dr Leung Mee Lee has retired as secretary general and the President has yet to appoint a replacement. She was honoured with the ABF Silver pin award by the Executive Committee for her dedicated 16 years of services as secretary general.

Mr Winston Chan was re-appointed the Honarary Auditor. Mr Kevin Dornberger, President of WTBA and FIQ was also present at the assembly.

Ms Vivien Lau, Honorary Life President of ABF and FIQ secretary general and Mr Kyohei Akagi, Honorary Life President of WTBA were also present. In addition to the elections, minutes of the previous general assembly was adopted as well as the adoption of the Financial reports.

The assembly received reports from hosts of the 17th Asian Youth Championships in 2013, Hong Kong; 23rd Asian Tenpin Bowling Championships in 2014 from Tahiland; 4th Asian Indoor Games and 17th Asian Games in 2014, both from Korea.

Macau China Bowling Association was appointed the host of the 18th Asian Youth Championships for 2015 and Kuwait Bowling Federation as host of the 24th Asian Tenpin Bowling Championships for 2016.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Hong Kong.

Copyright © Asian Bowling Federation, 1998 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.
| Terms of Use | Privacy Policy |
Hosted and maintained by NetMedia Services
Quick Link
Previous Championships
Past Winners
Bulletin 1
Bulletin 2
Bulletin 3
Bulletin 4
Invitation Letter
Form A - Participation
Form B - Entry Form
Form C - Bowlers' Info
Form D - Media Acc.
Form E - Metropark
Form F - Regal Kowloon
Form G - Royal Plaza
Form H - Unoff. Practice
Participating Countries
Medium Oil Pattern
Short Oil Pattern
Airport Pickup
More Photos
Team Photos
Medal Presentation
Detailed Scores
 SINGLES - Short
Women Squad 1
Women Squad 2
Women Squad 3
Women Combined
Men Squad 1
Men Squad 2
Men Squad 3
Men Combined
 DOUBLES - Medium
Women Squad 1
Women Squad 2
Women Squad 3
Women Combined
Men Squad 1
Men Squad 2
Men Squad 3
Men Combined
 TRIOS - Medium/Short
Women Block 1 Squad 1
Women Block 1 Squad 2
Women Block 1 Combined
Men Block 1 Squad 1
Men Block 1 Squad 2
Men Block 1 Combined
Women Block 2 Squad 2
Women Block 2 Squad 1
Women Block 2 Combined
Men Block 2 Squad 2
Men Block 2 Squad 1
Men Block 2 Combined
 TEAM - Short/Medium
Women Block 1
Men Block 1
Women Block 2
Men Block 2
Women All Events
Men All-Events
 MASTERS - Medium/Short
Women Block 1
Men Block 1
Women Block 2
Men Block 2
Women Semi & Final
Men Semi & Final
Women Medals
Men Medals
Overall Medals
ABF Logo
Organized by
Hosted at
Visit Hong Kong Bowling City website