2019 Storm U22 China International Youth Open Championships
Perfect gamer wins Round 1 finals
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

28th July, Shanghai: Marcus Tan Wei Hao of Singapore rolled the tournament's first 300 en-route to winning the Round 1 finals of the 2019 Storm U22 China International Youth Bowling Championships to advance into the Round of 16 as topseed.

Tan, who qualified for the Round 1 finals in fifth position with 1872, rolled the tournament's first 300 in his opening ninth game to take the lead. Top qualifier and compatriot, Dylan Teoh trailed Tan with 241 followed by Ahmaz Azriq of Sunway Megalanes, Malaysia in third.

The 21-year-old Singaporean continued to set a blistering pace with 245 in the tenth game to extend his lead to 51 pins. Hong Kong's Boco Wong Tsz Wai posted 244 and 251 to move up into second spot as Teoh slipped to third.

Tan went on to win the Round 1 finals with 233 and 244 for a 1022 four-game series and a grand total of 2894. Azriq stormed home with two massive games of 268 and 267 to snatch second spot with 2818 while Wong finished third with 2778.

Marcus Tan rolling the first 300 en-route to winning Round 1

The top three in Round 1 finals were awarded special prize of RMB1,000, RMB750 and RMB500 respectively. Singapore's Javier Tan and Teoh rounded out the top five with 2757 and 2752. Third highest qualifier, Yuma Haraguchi of Japan finished sixth with 2750.

The top 16 with the highest pinfalls from 12 games advanced to the Round of 16 Knockout finals in a best-of-three matches. The cut in 16th position went to Owen Wong of Singapore with 2632. Block 1 Squad A leader, Chi Mingyu of China missed the cut by 10 pins finishing in 17th.

The top 16 finalists were made up of five from Singapore, three each from Malaysia and Chinese Taipei, two each from China and Hong Kong and one from Japan. The winners of the eight matches in the Round of 16 will proceed to the quarter-finals.

The winners will then proceed to the semi-finals and subsequently the final, again in the best-of-three knockout matches to determine the champion. The top 3 winners will be awarded trophies with attractive cash prizes.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Shanghai, China.

Round 1 Top 3, Ahmad Azriq, Marcus Tan and Boco Wong Tsz Wai

| Back |