Welcome to abf-online.org Link to World Tenpin Bowling Association 
Home About ABF Our Affiliates News & Results Calendar Asian Ranking Guestbook
News & Results Title
ABF Tour - Philippines 2006 | Photo Album |

Second for Malaysian, maiden win for Thai

18th June, Manila: ABF Tour Thailand leg champion, Shalin Zulkifli of Malaysia captured her second successive tour title when she triumphed in the ABF Tour Philippines Leg while Surasak Manuwong claimed his maiden win in the men's division at Eastwood Bowling Center.

ABF Tour - Philippines logo

Having only finished 11th in the preceeding Philippines Open, the double winner of the Thailand Open and ABF Tour Thailand leg, Shalin Zulkifli came back with a vengence to narrowly edge newly-crowned Philippines Open champion, Kang Hyun-Jin, 188-155 in the final match.

The 27-year-old current Asian Ranked No. 1 had earlier ended Philippines' hope of a home victory when the champion ousted tour debutant, Marjo Reyes, 225-200 in the second semifinal match. Kang, the runner-up earned her spot in the finals after she knocked out compatriot, Kim Eun-Jung, 236-226 in the first semifinals.

The other local hopeful, Elaine Florencio was eliminated in Round 2 when she lost to the highest game scored by the women when she lost to Kim Eun-Jung, 278-181 while Malaysia's national rookie and tour debutant, 14-year-old Sin Li Jane crashed out to the runner-up, Kang Hyun-Jin, 183-266 in Round 2.

Shalin Zulkifli
Shalin winning her second successive tour title

In the men's division, Thailand's Surasak Manuwong crusied to a convincing win over challenger, Chester King of the Philippines, 212-157 to take his maiden victory and his first international title. The champion had earlier ousted another Filipino, C J Suarez 214-179 in the second semi.

Despite winning convincingly in the first semifinal match against Korea's Kong Byoung-Hee, 242-199, the runner-up and 2005 Philippines Open champion could not repeat the form when faced with the champion in the finals.

Newly-crowned Philippines Open champion and top-seed lost to Chester King in Round 2, 188-203 while the second-seed, Markwin Tee also crashed out to another Filipino, C J Suarez, 218-248 in Round 2.

Surasak Manuwong
Surasak Manuwong claiming his maiden tour title

Malaysia's Alex Liew and Mohd Noer Said failed to make any progress loosing their matches in Round 1 leaving no Malaysian beyond the second round for the first time in its tour history.

ABF Tour next stop will be in Jakarta, Indonesia on the 30th July, 2006. The ABF Tour 2006 comprises 8 Legs and a Grand Final. Top 16 men and 16 women bowlers from the preceding International Open Masters Event (Open Grade) will be qualified and competed in a one-game match play knock-out competition for the individual men's and women's titles.

Highlights of the ABF Tour - Philippines will be televised later on local television stations of the eight countries where the tour is being held. It is also broadcast later from parts of Europe, Africa, the Middle East, central Asia, China and Australasia with an estimated audience of around 90 million.

For further information and details please contact ABF Tour Committee Marketing and Event Management Division at Tel: (852) 2810 5191; Fax: (852) 28105192; Mr. Ritchie Lai (Mobile: (852) 93598669; email: ritchie.lai@tndgroup.com or by visiting ABF Tour official website: www.abftour.com.

Photos by Ritchie Lai, TND Group.

Detailed Scores
Round 1 & 2 Matches
Semi & Finals Matches
Finals Results
Santioned by
ABF Logo
Organized by
PBC Logo