Welcome to abf-online.org Link to World Tenpin Bowling Association 
Home About ABF Our Affiliates News & Results Calendar Asian Ranking Guestbook
    only search this site  
News & Results Title
ABF Tour - Philippines 2007 | Photo Album |

Korea, Malaysia claims Philippines leg titles

17th June, Manila: Oh Young Ki of Korea and Tang Joh Six of Malaysia claimed their maiden tour title when the Korean defeated Ryan Lalisang of Indonesia, 257-223 while the ABF Tour Philippines leg women's crown went to the Malaysian who edged tour debutant, Marjo Reyes, 198-170.

ABF Tour - Philippines logo

Oh Young Ki, who made the stepladder finals of the preceeding 36th PBC-Boysen International Open but was knocked out by eventual champion, Wu Siu Hong, made amends by defeating Wu's compatriot, Cyrus Cheung in the first semifinal match, 187-143 to take his place in the finals.

The final match against Kuwait International Open and the ABF Tour Kuwait leg champion, Ryan Lalisang of Indonesia, was a thriller as both bowlers exchanged strikes in the early stages. But it was the Korean who prevailed and went on to strike home for the highest game of the tournament to claim his maiden title.

Lalisang settled for runner-up spot despite knocking out Oh's fellow-countrymen, Jo Nam Yi in the other semifinal match, 227-202. But Lalisang's run came to an end when faced with the in-form Korean.

Oh Young Ki
Oh Young Ki capturing his maiden tour title

The champion had earlier ousted two Filipinos, Jeff Chan in Round 1 and RJ Bautista in Round 2 before taking on Cyrus Cheung in the semi while third-seed, Ryan Lalisang also eliminated two Filipinos, Biboy Rivera in Round 1 and Tyrone Ongpauco in Round 2 to book his spot in the semi.

Meanwhile, Malaysian ex-national, Tang Joh Six defeated tour debutant, Marjo Reyes of Philippines, 198-170 to claim her first tour title. Tang booked her spot in the finals after she had disposed off local hopeful, Jojo Canare, 193-180 in the first women's semifinal match.

In the other semi, Reyes ousted Indonesia's Putty Armein, 231-206 for a crack at the title but her fine run came to an end in the crucial finals. The runner-up had earlier knocked out fellow compatriot, Elaine Florencio in Round 1 and last year's Philippines Open champion, Kang Hyun Ji in the second round.

The champion knocked out another tour debutant, Raniia Nugroho of Indonesia in Round 1 and went on to beat newly-crowned Philippines Open champion, Liza Del Rosario in Round 2.

Tang Joh Six
Tang Joh Six of Malaysia emerging as the Women's champion

The ABF Tour Philippine leg was telecast LIVE over NBN (Channel 4) and the highlights will be televised later on local television stations of the eight countries where the tour is being held.

For further information and details please contact ABF Tour Committee Marketing and Event Management Division at Tel: +852 2810 5191; Fax: +852 2810 5192; Mr. Steven Chan (Mobile: +852 9303 3102; email: steve.chan@tndgroup.com).

Photos by Steve Chan, TND Group.

Detailed Scores
Round 1 & 2 Matches
Semi & Finals Matches
Finals Results
Santioned by
ABF Logo
Organized by
PBC Logo
Hosted by
SM Bowling Centre