Jaya Ancol Singles Championships 2018
Left-handers rule Squad B
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

1st May, Jakarta: Left-handers, Melyssa Chua of Singapore and Sharon Koh of Malaysia finished one-two in the second squad of the first block of qualifying at the inaugural Jaya Ancol Singles Bowling Championships 2018.

2017 SEA Games Team silver medallist, Billy Mohammad Islam of Indonesia kicked off the second squad with a scorching 264 to lead Hong Kong's Tony Wong by 7 pins followed by Chua in third and Malaysia's Nur Amirah in fourth.

Islam extended his lead to 15 pins after rolling 201 in the second game. Chua moved into second spot with a similar score of 201 while a second Indonesian, Ryan Lalisang took up third with a stunning 268 moving ahead of Wong, slipping down to fourth.

The 18-year-old 2015 Singapore Open Youth Under-18 Masters champion added another superb 235 in the third game to take over the lead. Lalisang continued to improve to second with another good game of 236.

Top 3 finishers, Sharon Koh, Melyssa Chua and Ryan Lalisang

Wong recovered slightly to trail the leading duo in third while Islam dropped to fourth. Chua stumbled to a poor 183 in the fourth game allowing Lalisang to leapfrog into the lead. The Singapore youth bounced back with 211 to end the squad in pole position with 1097.

Koh stormed home with 257 to snatch second position with 1096 as Lalisang managed only 188 to slip down to third with 1080. Islam settled for fourth position with 1065 while Jarred Lim of SIngapore rounded out the top five with 1054.

Chua's 1097 effort only earned her only sixth with Squad A and B scores combined. Squad A top 3 five finishers remained unchanged with leader, Chong Jun Foo of Malaysia followed by Sharon Limansantoso of Indonesia, Mohammed Alsaud, Hassan Alshaikh of Saudi Arabia and Muhammad Azizi of Malaysia.

Competition will continue with Squad C and D later today. Bowlers bowl 3 blocks of five games each and the top 36 qualifiers together with the four spots allocated to the top 4 Indonesians outside the top 36 (positioned 37 - 40) and a top women qualifier (positioned 41) and four from the one-game desperado squad (positioned 42 - 45) will contest the 10-game finals on May 5.

The top 7 after the finals will advance to the stepladder shootout finals. There is also a Classified division for bowlers averaged below 200 with the same number of qualifying format and numbers as the Open division. Their finals will be held on May 4.

Squad B first block leader, Melyssa Chua

The inaugural Jaya Ancol Singles Bowling Championships 2018 is organized by the Indonesian national elite squad members, Ryan Lalisang, Tannya Roumimper and Hengki Susanto and supported by Jaya Ancol Bowling Center and Persatuan Boling Indonesia. It is sanctioned by Asian Bowling Federation and World Bowling attracting bowlers from Australia, Brunei, China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Thailand and UAE.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Jakarta.

| Back |