Welcome to abf-online.org Link to World Tenpin Bowling Association 
Home About ABF Our Affiliates News & Results Calendar Asian Ranking Guestbook
News & Results Title
Ebonite South Pacific Classic 2004 Photo Album
Top qualifiers takes South Pacific Classic titles

5th September, Melbourne: Top qualifiers, Carol Gianotti of Western Australia and Jason Belmonte of New South Wales took their respective divisions' Ebonite South Pacific Classic title at Moorabbin Bowl at end of the Matchplay Finals.

South Pacific Classic logo

The 21-year-old two Gold medalist at the World Youth Championship in Guam last month averaged an impressive 221.84 and 7117 total pinfall, to claim the Men's title by a comfortable 125 pins from Paul Trotter of Victoria. Trotter, who scored the second perfect game of the tournament, totalled 6992 for second with George Frilingos of Queensland in third with 6932.

Belmonte won 12 of the 15-game Matchplay Finals to bag the top prize of A$4,000 and earned his place to represent Australia in the 40th AMF Bowling Cup in Singapore this December.

First block leader, Andrew Frawley settled for fourth placing with 6921 ahead of Michael Muir of Western Australia in fifth spot with 6841.

Jason Belmonte
Belmonte winning the Men's title comfortably

Meanwhile there was no stopping top qualifier, Carol Gianotti of Western Australia when he romped home a clear winner in the Women's division. Gianotti averaged 223.48 with a total score of 6184 and 276 pins clear of Anne-Maree Putney and Maxine Nable, both of New South Wales. Putney finished second with 5908 while Nable totalled 5871 for third spot.

Gianotti won seven, drew one and lost four games for 150 bonus points added to her total pinfall. Two Queenslander, Kate Wilton and Samantha Warby finished fourth and fifth positions with 5676 and 5482 respectively.

The champion also took home A$2,000 for her effort with Putney taking home A$1,500 and Nable A$1,250. Fourth and fifth placed winners also won A$1,000 and A$800.

Carol Gianotti
Gianotti with her trophy after winning the Women's title

Jason Belmonte and Anne-Maree Putney earned the right to represent Australia in the 40th AMF Bowling World Cup in Singapore. The Women's winner, Carol Gianotti is ineligible due to her Pro Bowler status.

A total of 112 men and 57 women competed in this year's Ebonite South Pacific Classic at AMF Moorabbin Bowl in Melbourne, Victoria.

Photos courtesy of TotalBowling.com.au.

World Cup Qualifiers
Belmonte and Putney to represent Australia in the World Cup
Carol Gianotti, Jason Belmonte takes over pole position

4th September, Melbourne: Carol Gianotti of Western Australia and World Youth Championship Gold medalist, Jason Belmonte of New South Wales took over pole position of the Ebonite South Pacific Classic 2004 at Moorabbin Bowl at end of second block.

South Pacific Classic logo

A 279 in the 16th and final game of the second block took Carol Gianotti of Western Australia to the top of the Women's qualifying table. Gianotti, who was trailing former PWBA and overnight leader, Maxine Nable by 5 pins going into the final game, knocked down a total of 1817 in the second block to give her a 16-game total of 3470.

New South Wales' Maxine Nable settled for second spot, 27 pins behind Gianotti on 3443 followed by Anne-Maree Putney in third position with 3361. Narelle Baker of Victoria finished fourth with 3223 ahead of Samantha Warby of Quensland in fifth with 3222.

Amanda Bradley (NSW-3206), Julieanne Mollett (NZL-3160), Justine Peters (NSW-3153), Emma Rutten (NSW-3149), Clair Johnston (SA-3136), Katie

Carol Gianotti
Carol Gianotti taking over pole position at end of second block

Kotteakos (NSW-3100) and Kate Wilton (QLD-3099) all made the cut for tomorrow's quarterfinals from 7th to 12th positions respectively.

Meanwhile, World Youth Championship Gold medalist, Jason Belmonte of New South Wales, stormed home with a 279 in the final game to pip Paul Trotter of Victoria by 4 pins to take over the lead in the Men's division.

The 21-year-old, who bagged two Gold medals in the World Youth Championship in Guam last month, returned all the eight games above the 200-mark with lines of 218, 278, 207, 226, 218, 238, 235 and 279 for a score of 1899 to accummulate a 16-game total of 3603.

Victoria's Paul Trotter, who took over the lead briefly after shooting the second perfect game of the tournament in the 15th game, settled for second with 3599 while overnight leader, Andrew Frawley of New South Wales dropped to third with 3574.

Jason Belmonte
Jason Belmonte snatching the lead by 4 pins

Jason Walsh of New South Wales bowled the first perfect game of the tournament in the 12th game in lanes 1 and 2 when he strung together 12 consecutive stikes with the final three strikes in lane 1. A good second block has moved Walsh from 14th overnight to 10th for the next round with 3325.

Zane Que (QLD-3441), Michael Muir (WA-3408), Michael Little (NSW-3407), Doug Bear (VIC-3382), George Frilingos (QLD-3356) and Glen Loader (NSW-3333) with Walsh, completed the top 10 from fourth to tenth positions respectively.

The top 16 men and top 12 women contest the Matchplay Finals to determine the champion in each division on Sunday, 5th September.

Jason Walsh
Jason Walsh scoring the first perfect game in the second block

Photos courtesy of TotalBowling.com.au.

Andrew Frawley, Maxine Nable leads after first block

3rd September, Melbourne: Andrew Frawley and Maxine Nable, both from New South Wales, lead in their respective divisions at the end of the first block 8 games qualifying round of the Ebonite South Pacific Classic 2004 at Moorabbin Bowl.

South Pacific Classic logo

The 2003 Queensland Cup champion was the only bowler out of a field of 125 to bowl above the card in every game, finishing +250 and averaging 231.3. Frawley had lines of 287, 230, 200, 222, 226, 269, 242 and 174 for a total of 1850. Frawley also holds the current high game, after he opened with a 287 game.

Paul Trotter of Victoria bowled in Squad C superbly to score 1827 to take second spot, ust 23 pins behind the leader followed by Doug Bear in third position with 1778. Jarrod Lean of NSW took fourth spot with 1749 with Zane Que of Queensland, who led in Squad A, finishing in fifth with a score of 1744.

Last year's champion, Tim Mack of USA was unable to make the trip whilst a

Andrew Frawley
Andrew Frawley taking over the lead after first block

finger injury sustained whilst bowling for Australia in Guam has meant last year's leading Australian and World Cup Representative Brandon Qualischefski has had to withdraw.

Former PWBA bowler, Maxine Nable of New South Wales, topped the Women's division with a score of 1718. The 1998 Commonwealth Games Doubles Gold medalist was on a roll with lines of 200, 212, 227, 198, 214, 224, 254 and 189 to lead 41 pins from World Championship Gold medalist, Anne-Maree Putney, who scored 1677.

Carol Gianotti of Western Australia did well to take third spot with 1653 ahead of former World Cup Champion, Amanda Bradley of NSW on 1616. Kassey Fechner from Tasmania wrapped up the top 5 in fifth place with 1595.

The 125 men and 57 women will continue their second block of 8 games qualifying tomorrow (4th September), at the end of which the top 16 men and top 12 women will make the cut for the Matchplay Finals on Sunday, 5th September.

Maxine Nable
Maxine Nable taking pole position after eight games

Photos courtesy of TotalBowling.com.au.

Detailed Scores
Men's MQ 1st Blk
Women's MQ 1st Blk
Men's MQ 2nd Blk
Women's MQ 2nd Blk
Men's Matchplay
Women's Matchplay
Santioned by
ABF Logo
Hosted by
Moorabbin Bowl Logo