23rd Asian Junior Tenpin Bowling Championships
Malaysia hosts Asian Junior for fifth time
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Medal Album | Results

16th June, Petaling Jaya: The 23rd Asian Junior Tenpin Bowling Championships, hosted by Malaysia Tenpin Bowling Congress for the fifth time, will comprising of 82 boys, 47 girls and 39 team officials from a total of 14 countries.

The Asian Junior Tenpin Bowling Championship is one of the most popular championships for youth under the age of 18 where they can showcase their skills for the first time for some and another effort to providing glory to their country.

Australia, Malaysia, Singapore and Chinese Taipei have entered two boys and two girls teams, Kuwait two boys and one girls team, Qatar two boys teams, Hong Kong (China) one and a hlaf boys teams, China one boys and one girls team while Indonesia, Pakistan and Vietnam one boys team only.

Team officials attended the managers' meeting held at Sunway Megalanes Conference Room chaired by Dr Danny Santos, Tournament Director. Ms Vivien Lau, BBS, JP., Honorary Life President of Asian Bowling Federation along with Mr Maradona Chok, Secretary General of MTBC and Host Tournament Co-ordinator and Mr Kristijonas Sergejevas, Technical Delegate from Kegel were present as well.

Tournament Committee members at the head table

The meeting kicked off with a roll-call during which the technical handbook containing the championships information, schedule, lane draws for each event, official practice starting lanes and opening ceremony arrangements.

Ms Vivien Lau welcomed all team officials as she delivered her speech on behalf of HE Sheikh Talal Mohammed Al-Sabah, President of ABF and IBF before handing the meeting over to Dr Santos. The tournament director highlighted several important issues pertaining to the championships.

He explained that medals won by Team A will only count towards the overall champion award but players from either teams can win medals for the events they will compete in.

Dr Santos also announced the members of the Jury of Appeal comprising of Mr Michael Seymour (CEO of IBF), Mr Bandar Al-Shafi, ABF Executive Board Member and Dato' Mohammed Najeeb Abdullah, MTBC Acting President.

The official opening ceremony will be held at 11.00am local time on June 17 followed by a welcome buffet lunch at Sunway Megalanes. The official practice session will held after lunch and divided into two squads for the 14 countries.

Competition will kick off with the Singles event on Tuesday June 18, Doubles on Wednesday June 19 and the Team of 4 on Thursday June 20. The top 16 based on their respective division All Events standings (18 games) will qualify for the Masters Finals.

The Masters Finals will be a matchplay round-robin format over 8 games in the first block on Friday June 21 and 7 games plus position-round match in the second block. The top 3 boys and top 3 girls will proceed to the Stepladder Shootout finals.

Live video streaming throughout the championships will be featured starting with the opening ceremony, official practice, Singles, Doubles, Team of 4, Masters Fnals and Stepladder Finals.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Petaling Jaya, Malaysia.

| Back |