Welcome to abf-online.org Link to WTBA 
Home About ABF Our Affiliates News & Results Calendar Asian Ranking Guestbook
    only search this site  
Championship Title
8th Euro-Med Storm International Masters Challenge
American PBA pro wins title

19th February, Manila: American PBA pro, Robert Smith captured the 8th Euro-Med Storm International Masters Challenge with a 243-228 victory over challenger, George Frilngos of Australia on Saturday.

8th Euromed-Storm logo

Robert Smith, who now resides in Hong Kong, started out with six consecutive strikes to open up a decent gap over George Frilingos but the Aussie made a strong comeback and almost force Smith needing a mark in the tenth frame.

Frilingos, who rolled three perfect games during the qualifying rounds, had to settle for second place. The Aussie will be on a high as he makes his way to Malaysia to represent his country in the Commonwealth Championship.

Smith, who is the second consecutive PBA pro to pocket Peso 1 million (approx. US$23,000) following Doug Kent's victory in 2009, bowls for HK Contact Proshop and Global 900.

Robert Smith
Robert Smith winning the Masters Challenge title

Frilingos earned a crack at the title after he edging No. 2 seed, Gu Yong Jin, 216-200 in the second stepladder final match. Seeded third, the Aussie also beat No. 4 seed, Surasak Manuwong of Thailand, 224-203 to advance.

The runner-up settled for Peso 500,000 (approx. US$12,500) while Gu and Surasak took home Peso 250,000 (approx. US$5,770) and Peso 125,000 (approx. US$2,880).

Smith topped the earlier round-robin Stage 3 Finals with a total 1980 from seven wins. Korean Gu Yong Jin finished second with 1905 on six wins while Frilingos and Surasak made the stepladder finals in third and fourth.

Malaysia's Alex Liew missed the cut by just 1 pin after finishing fifth with 1890 ahead of Henry Hui of Hong Kong J Em Ang of PBAP-Bowlmart and Joonee Gatchalian of MTBA sixth to eighth.

Groge Frilingos
George Frilingos settling for first runnerup

Meanwhile, Hashim Al Hashimi of UAE won the Bevida-Storm Masters crown with a total of 2285 over the 10-games finals. Ceasar Muere of PBA and Gene Basa of PBAP-Bowlmart were denied a home victory after finishing second and third with 2283 and 2243 respectively.

Photos by Terence Yaw.

Rules & Regulations
Prize Structure
Hotel & Flight
Detailed Scores
Bevida Qualifiers
Overall Qualifiers
Top Qualifiers
Bevida Masters
Stage 1 Masters
Stage 2 Masters
Stage 3 Masters
Stepladder Finals
Santioned by
ABF Logo
Organized by
Pearl Bowlers' Association logo
Hosted by
Pearl Bowling Center logo