Jaya Ancol Singles Championships 2018
Sarawakian retains lead after Block 2
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

2nd May, Jakarta: Overnight leader, Chong Jun Foo of Sarawak, Malaysia retained the lead of the Open division qualifying standings at the inaugural Jaya Ancol Singles Bowling Championships after the second block.

Chong, who won the 2013 Asian Youth Singles gold medal in Hong Kong, kept his lead despite only kc=nocking down a lower second block of 1037 for a 10-game total of 2209. Indonesia's Diwan Rezaldy and 2006 Doha Asian Games Doubles gold medallist, Hassan Alshaikh of Saudi Arabia had tied second spot with 2187.

But in the final Squad D, Indonesia's Sukinto Wijaya added 1143 in his second block to take his 10-game tally to 2191, pipping Rezaldy and Alshaikh by four pins to clinch second spot. Rezaldy and Alshaikh had to settle for third.

The top female qualifier was 2017 SEA Games Doubles gold medallist, Sharon Limansantoso of Indonesia who occupied fifth position with 2180.

Overnight leader, Chong Jun Foo retaining pole position after Block 2

Squad B leader, Ryan Lalisang of Indonesia finished in the top 10 with 2113. Nora Lyana Natasia of Malaysia, who finished second to Lalisang tied 13th position with Squad C leader Rudy Goenawan of Indonesia. The cut in 36th position went to Nur Syazwani Sahar of Malaysia with 1973, averaging 197.3. Nadia Pramanik, who missed the cut, qualified as the top Indonesian in 37th position joined by Alisha Nabila, Billiy Muhammad Islam and Oscar. The top female qualifier outside the top 36 was Jana Tan Qiuxuan of Singapore with 1966.

In the Classified division, Rudy Goenawan topped the field with 2097 followed by Lee Sang Ho of Indonesia and Najihah of Malaysia sharing second spot with 2062. Nur Nais Falilnesa of Malaysia and Adhy Latif of Indonesia rounded out the top five with 2052 and 2028 respectively.

The cut in 36th position went to Adyandra Anugra of Indonesia with 1737. Yans Ari N, Tan Bie Liang and Conelis Guo held the three positions reserved for Indonesia qualifiers.

Competition will resume with the third and final block of 3 games tomorrow. The top 36 in the Open division along with the four Indonesia qualifiers, top female qualifier and the top four from the one-game desperado squad will contest the 10-game finals on May 5.

The similar number of qualifiers in the Classified division will contest their 10-game finals on May 4 to decide the winners. The top 7 finishers in the Open division finals will proceed to the stepladder shootout finals to determine the winners.

Squad A top 3, Diwan Rezaldy, Chong Jun Foo and Hassan Alshaikh

The inaugural Jaya Ancol Singles Bowling Championships 2018 is organized by the Indonesian national elite squad members, Ryan Lalisang, Tannya Roumimper and Hengki Susanto and supported by Jaya Ancol Bowling Center and Persatuan Boling Indonesia. It is sanctioned by Asian Bowling Federation and World Bowling attracting bowlers from Australia, Brunei, China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Thailand and UAE.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Jakarta.

| Back |