2017 Macao-China International Open
Double victory for Malaysian topseeds
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

24th June, Macau: Topseeds, Syafiq Ridhwan and Radin Nur Najwa gave Malaysia a double victory by capturing the Men's Open and Women's Open Masters titles of the 2017 Macau China International Open which concluded on Saturday.

The 2012 AMF World Cup champion Syafiq, who had advanced to the stepladder finals as topseed after winning the Round 2 finals with 1941, needed only one match to take the title defeating challenger and Men's Graded champion, Baek Jong Yun of Korea, 251-215 in the championship match.

Baek had earned the right to challenge Syafiq after he easily dispatched third-seed, Michael Mak of Hong Kong and winner of the first match, Zoe Dias Ma of Macau, 279-192-224 in the semi.

Dias Ma eliminated two Malaysian lefties, Alex Liew and newly-crowned Singapore Open champion, Rafiq Ismail, 258-238-225 in the first match.

Men's Open champion, Syafiq Ridhwan with his trophy

Syafiq pocketed the top prize MOP$70,000 (approx. US$8,500) as champion with Baek settling for MOP$30,000 as first runner-up. Dias Ma earned MOP$15,000 as second runner-up as Mak, Liew and Rafiq took home MOP$6,000, MOP$5,000 and MOP$4,000 respectively. Baek finished second in Round 2 with 1933, just eight pins behind Syafiq. Mak claimed third spot with 1907, Liew fourth with 1893, Rafiq with 1879 and Dias Ma 1873. Liew rolled the seventh perfecto in the opening game of Round 2.

In the women's division, debutant and topseed, Radin had to work harder for her well-earned victory. Round 1 leader, Putty Armein of Indonesia forced the title decider after winning the first match, 248-194 against Radin.

But the Malaysian bounced back to clinch her first international title with a 213-194 victory over the Armein. The Indonesian edged 2015 champion, Lee Young Seung of Korea and winner of the first match, Jang Ryeon Gyeong of Korea, 221-214-213 to advance to the title round.

Sixth-seed, Jang ousted compatriot and fourth-seed, Jung Ha Eun and fifth-seed, Nora Lyana Natasia of Malaysia, 200-194-188 in the first match. Radin picked up the top prize of MOP$40,000 (approx. US$5,000) as champion.

Armein, who was first runner-up in 2010 and second runner-up in 2012, settled for MOP$18,000 while Lee took home MOP$10,000 as second runner-up. Jang, Jung and Nora Lyana earned MOP$4,000, MOP$3,000 and MOP$2,000 respectively.

Radin Nur Najwa winning her first international title

In the earlier Round 2 finals, Radin finished first with 1943, a comfortable 88 pins ahead of Armein in second with 1855 and Lee in third with 1845. Jung, Nora Lyana and Jang finished fourth to sixth to make the cut for the stepladder finals.

Mr Pun Weng Kun, Director of Sport Bureau of Macau SAR and Mr Andrew Chan, Chairman of Macau-China Bowling Association presented the trophies and prizes to the Men's and Women's Open winners at the victory banquet.

The top 16 Asian men and top 16 Asian women from the preceeding stepladder finals and Round 2 finals qualified for the 2017 ABF Tour Macau Leg which will be staged at the same bowling Centre tomorrow.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Macau, China.

| Back |