Sarawak International Open Bowling Championships 2024
Malaysian national bowler reign supreme
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Results

15th June, Kuching: Last year's first runner-up and Fourth-seed, Ahmad Azriq Izamuddin of Malaysian national podium squad remained undefeated in the Last Man Standing shootout finals to emerge as Open division champion of the Sarawak International Open Bowling Championships 2024.

In the title match between third-seed, Donovan Neo Zi Min of Trinity Bowling Singapore and Ahmad Azriq, both had decent start but Neo failed to make his spare in the third frame to trail the Malaysian youth. The Singaporean recovered with a double strike in the fourth and fifth frames to move ahead of Ahmad Azriq.

The match was level when Neo encountered a split in the sixth frame and Ahamd opened in the eighth frame. Whilst Neo just could find any strikes then on, the 17-year-old Ahmad Azriq struck three times to edge Neo, 192-174 for the victory. The first match amongst topseed Nabil Aiman Bon Mantaib of Sabah, National squad and second-seed, Muhammad Syazirol Shamsuddin, Neo and Ahmad Azriq, the Sabahan was eliminiated with the lowest score of 199.

Open Masters champion, Ahmad Azriq Izamuddin of Malaysian national youth squad

Muhammad Syazirol and Neo shot identical 248 to progress and Ahmad Azriq scored 237 to join the duo. In the second match, Muhammad Syazirol crashed out with 170 as Neo and Ahmad Azriq proceeded to the title match with 236 and 225 respectively. Ahmad Azriq pocketed the top prize of RM20,000 as champion, 27-year-old Neo took home RM10,000 as first runner-up while 25-year-old Muhammad Syazirol and Nabil Aiman earned RM5,000 and RM2,500 as second and third runners-up.

Guest of Honour, Yang Berhormat Dato' Sri Haji Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah, Minister of Tourism, Creative Industry and Performing Arts Sarawak, Minister of Youth, Sports and Entrepreneur Development Sarawak was on hand to present the trophies and prizes to the Open division Masters winners.

Yang Berhormat Senator Dato' Ahmad Bin Dato' Sri Haji Ibrahim, Parliament Member of Malaysia gave away the trophies and prizes to the Classified Masters division while Mr Morshidi Fredrick, Permenant Secretary, Ministry of Youth, Sports and Entrepreneut Development Sarawak presented the trophies and prizes to the Youth U25 Masters winners.

En Nasir Bin Lariwoo, Principal Assistant Secretary, MTCP, Mr Sunny Si Poh Heng, President of ABS and En Haji Shaifulbahri Bin Sukri, Deputy President of ABS all gave away trophies and prizes to other categories.

Before the start of the title match, participants, coaches and distinguished guests were entertained to cultural performances present by the Ministry of Tourism, Creative Industry and Performing Arts Sarawak.

Open Masters top 4 winners, Donovan Neo, Ahmad Azriq, Muhammad Syazirol and Nabil Aiman

A total of 60 finalists of Youth U25 division, 60 finalists in the Classified division and 60 finalists in the Open division contested their finals after their two blocks of four games qualifying rounds from June 12 to 14 culminating to the finals on June 14 and 15.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Kuching, Sarawak.

Related stories:
Sarawakian snatches Classified Masters title
Penang youth bags U25 Masters title
Sabahan ends qualifying round for pole
Malaysian shoots second 300 for overall lead
Team MMBC 1 captures Sabati Cup

| Back |