43rd Hong Kong International Open
Thai bowlers continue to rule
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

13th July, Hong Kong: Thai national bowlers continued to rule the qualifying rounds of the 43rd Hong Kong International Open as Surasak Manuwong and Angkana Netrvseth took over the lead of the Men's and Women's Open Masters standings.

Indonesia's Hardy Rachmadian had just over taken overnight leader, Yannaphon Larpapharat of Thailand with 1410 but his lead was short-lived as Surasak posted 1411 to pip the Thai by one pin for the lead. Yannaphon slipped down to third but crucially joined his compatriot and the Indonesian skipping Stage 1 finals.

A third Thai, Kin Bolleby, who had occupied pole position before being pipped by Yannaphon this morning, dropped out of the top bracket to take up fourth position with 1395. Defending champion, Ryan Lalisang rounded out the top five with 1389.

Lalisang made several attempts to get back into the top bracket but failed to do so hence his fifth position will be given up as his place in the finals is reserved. Abdulrahman Alkhelewi of Saudi Arabia headed the mixed pool with 1333.

Surasak Manuwong taking over the lead of the Men's standings

Three national keglers, Wicky Yeung, Michael Mak and Tony Wong managed to take up the top three local positions for the skip of Stage 1 finals with 1423, 1367 and 1330 respectively. The cut in 10th position in the mixed pool went to Diwan Rezaldy of Indonesia with exactly 1300. With numerous bowlers making their attempts in the last two squads, it could well be as much as 1320 being the final cut.

Meanwhile, 2013 SEA Games Trios Gold medallist, Angkana Netrvseth of Thailand registered a stunning 714 three-game series to leapfrog into the top of the overseas pool as the new leader with 1409. Dayang Khairuniza of Malaysia, who had over taken overnight leader, Nadia Pramanik of Indonesia briefly, settled for second with 1352.

Although Nadia had slipped down to third, she still held her spot for Stage 2 finals. Yanee Saebe of Thailand dropped out to share fouth position with early leader, Sharon Limansantoso of Indonesia with 1328.

National team member, Chan Shuk Han, ex-international Joey Yip and Joan Cheng secured the top three local pool positions and will skip Stage 1 finals. Newly-crowned Kaohsiung Open champion, Wang Ya-Ting of Chinese Taipei headed the mixed pool with 1281 while the cut went up further to 1208 held by Thanchanok Vilailak of Thailand.

There will be one last squad before the qualifying ends at press time. A one-game desperado squad will be staged for the Men's Open division to allow the top three finishers to join Stage 1 finals.

New leader, Angkana Netrvseth of Thailand

Photos by Terence Yaw in Hong Kong.

| Back |