Jaya Ancol Singles Championships 2018
Malaysian wins qualifying rounds
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

3rd May, Jakarta: Block 1 and 2 leader, Chong Jun Foo of Sarawak, Malaysia won the qualifying rounds of the Open division at the inaugural Jaya Ancol Singles Bowling Championships after the end of the third block.

Chong added a third and final block with 1075 to take his three blocks tally to 3284 to win the qualifying round. Muhammad Azizi of Malaysia took second position with a similar 1075 final block for a total of 3236.

Indonesia's top finisher was 29th SEA Games Team silver medallist, Hardy Rachmadian and Squad D leader, Sukito Wijaya of Indonesia shared fourth position with 3222. The top women qualifier was Tannya Roumimper of Indonesia with 3186 who completed the top five.

Squad C leader, Rudy Goenawan of Indonesia finished sixth with 3160 while Squad C leader, Sharon Koh of Malaysia settled for seventh position with 3137. Her team-mate, Nora Lyana Natasia took eighth position with 3134.

Block 1 and 2 leader, Chong Jun Foo winning the qualifying rounds

2006 Doha Asian Games Doubles gold medallist, Hassan Alshaikh of Saudi Arabia and his compatriot, Mohammed Alsaud rounded out the top five with 3132 and 3126 respectively. The cut at 36th position went to Iffah Nadhirah of Malaysia with 2969, averaging 197.93. Aldila Indryati, Alisha Nabila, Oscar and Novie Phang earned the four qualifying spots reserved for Indonesians while Melyssa Chua of Singapore was the top women qualifier outside the top 36 who occupied 41st position.

Patrick Hernandez of Indonesia rolled the tournament's first 300 to win the desperado squad. Malaysia's Radin Nur Najwa (253), Siti Aishatun (231) and Nelson Hinsley of Australia (225) finished second to fourth to qualify for the finals.

In the Classified division, Sukinto Wijaya of Indonesia topped the field with 3103 ahead of Nur Bais Falilnesa of Malaysia in second with 3098 and Lee Sang Ho of Indonesia third with 3076. Rudy Goenawan and Prabu P of Indonesia rounded out the top five with 3040 and 2960 respectively.

Jonah Goh Yu An of Singapore and Adyandra Anugra of Indonesia tied 35th position with 2585. The four positions reserved for Indonesian qualifiers were Yans Ari N, Franky T, Tan Bie Liang and Conelis Guo.

The four desperado squad qualifiers were Malaysia's Mohd Fakaruddin (228), Muhammad Zulkifli Bin Ezahan (221), Hong Kong's Stephen Liu (182) and Alex To (175) in the Classified division.

Top women qualifier, Tannya Roumimper

The inaugural Jaya Ancol Singles Bowling Championships 2018 is organized by the Indonesian national elite squad members, Ryan Lalisang, Tannya Roumimper and Hengki Susanto and supported by Jaya Ancol Bowling Center and Persatuan Boling Indonesia. It is sanctioned by Asian Bowling Federation and World Bowling attracting bowlers from Australia, Brunei, China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Thailand and UAE.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Jakarta.

| Back |