2024 IBF World Youth Championships
World Youth Championships returns to Korea
Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Medal Album | Results

8th July, Incheon: The 2024 IBF World Youth Championships returned to Incheon, Korea after a 26 years break with 142 boys, 91 girls and 67 team officials from a total of 38 countries gathered for intense competition commencing from July 10 to 18 at Fiesta Bowling Center.

The World Youth Championship is the elite tenpin bowling event for athletes aged 21 or under, where they can showcase their skills for the first time for some and another opportunity for some to provide glory to their country.

Fourteen countries from the Asian Zone (ABF), two from Oceania Zone (OBF), one from Arfica Zone (BFA), fourteen from the European Zone (ETBF) and seven from the American Zone (PanAm) making up the 38 countries participating at this year's event.

Team officials attended the managers' meeting held at the Howard Johnson Hotel at 5.00pm local time, chaired by Mr Michael Seymour, CEO of International Bowling Federation (IBF) along with Mr Maradona Chok, Tournament Director, Mr Choi Jongbong, Chairman, Korean Bowling Association (KBA) International Committee, Mr Chung Young Hee, Host Tournament Co-Ordinator and Mr Doug Dukes, Technical Delegate from Kegel Inc.

Championshis tournament committee members at the head table

The meeting kicked-off with the chairman introducing the technical committee seated at the head table which was then followed by a welcome speech by the Chairman of KBA International Committee. The meeting was then handed over to the tournament director during which a roll call was made to team officials present at the meeting.

Mr Chok went through briefly the contents of the technical handbook distributed to all team officials, which included athletes accreditation cards, athletes bibs and submission of line up forms. Some of the important issues discussed were the finalization of the championships schedule, lane draws, official practice session and the opening ceremony procedures.

Mr Dukes announced the oiling pattern that will be deployed for this championships. He also re-iterated the importance of having athlete's bowling balls registered prior to the start of competition. Mr Chok also announced the members of the Jury of Appeal comprising of Mr Michael Seymour, Mr Choi Jongbong and Ms Kendra Cameron-Curry.

The official practice will be held tomorrow comprising of one hour session per squad (total two squads for girls and three squads for boys) commencing 9.00am local time. The official opening ceremony will be held the same day at 7.00pm local time at the Nest Hotel.

Competition will kick off with the Singles qualifying rounds for the girls (2 squads) and boys (3 squads) on Jul 10, 11 and 12 followed by the Singles Matchplay and Singles Semi-finals for the top four from the Matchplay. Doubles will be held on July 12, 13 and 14.

The Team of 4 will be contested on July 15 and 16, the Mixed Team of 4 on July 17 and the finals for Singles, Doubles, Team of 4 and Mixed Team of 4 all on the final day, July 18. Live video streaming will be available throughout the championships including the finals. Live scores will also be made available.

Photos by Noelle Chong in Incheon, Korea.

| Back |