19th Asian Youth Tenpin Bowling Championships
Glamarous show at opening ceremony Photo Album 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Medal Album | Results & Entries

22nd October, Manila: Host Philippines put on a glamarous show at the opening ceremony of the 19th Asian Youth Tenpin Bowling Championships which was officially decalred open by HRH Sheikh Talal Mohammad Al-Sabah, President of Asian Bowling Federation and World Bowling.

The ceremony and welcome reception was graced by HRH Sheikh Talal, Mr Jose Cojuangco, Philippine Olympic Committee President, Congressman Mr Monsour Del Rosario, representative from Philippine Sports Commission, Mr Boy Esteban, representative from the Office of the Mayor of Mandaluyong and Mr Steve Hontiveros, President of Philippine Bowling Federation.

Also present were Mr Alexander Lim, Organising Chairman and PBF secretary general, Mr Choi Jang Kyu, Vice President of ABF, Mr Bandar Al-Shafi, ABF Ex-Co member, Mr Winston Chan, ABF Honorary Auditor, representatives from sponsors, distinguished guests, team officials, coaches and players.

Master of Ceremonies, Ms Gelli Victor kicked off preceedings with the introduction of the guest of honour and distinguished representatives from various organisations followed by the entrance and marchpast of each participating countries led by the Buganda Drum and flag bearers of each country.

The Ramon Obusan Folkloric Group dance performance

Mr Alexanda Lim delivered his welcome remarks with words of appreciation to Asian Bowling Federation for awarding the hosting of the 19th Asian Youth Tenpin Bowling Championships to Philippine Bowling Federation. He also thanked the federations for their support in sending their teams to this championships.

Immediately following his welcome address, the Ramon Obusan Folkloric Group entertained the guests with a glamarous dance routine depicting each of the participating countries.

Thereafter, messages were dilivered by Mr Jose Cojuangco, Philippine Olympic Committee President, Congressman Mr Monsour Del Rosario, representative from the Philippine Sports Commission, HRH Sheikh Talal Mohammad Al-Sabah, President of ABF and World Bowling and Mr Boy Esteban, representative from the Office of the Mayor of Mandaluyong.

Token of appreciation in the form of plaques were presented to each of the speakers by Mr Steve Hontiveros along with Mr Alexanda Lim. Plaques were also presented to sponsors, Boysen, Cebuana and Philippine Sports Commission.

Philippine team members, Bea Hernandez and Ivan Malig took the athletes oath of sportmanship on behalf of all the players while Mr Bonnie Solis, Host Tournament Coordinator led his referees in the officials oath.

Speech by HRH Sheikh Talal Mohammad Al-Sabah

The guests were then treated to a scumptious dinner before performances by El Gamma Penubra, the award winning Ryan Cayabyab Singers and Joseph the Sand Artist followed. The opening show ended with a fabulous Audio Visual Presentation of players' arrival and teams during the official practice held yesterday.

HRH Sheikh Talal Mohammad then officially declare the championships open as the ceremonies came to an end. Competition will kick off with the Singles on October 23 in the morning for the girls and in ther afternoon for the boys. The Doubles will be contested on October 24 while the Team of 4 over two blocks of 3 games each will be staged on October 25 and 26.

The top 16 boys and top 16 girls based on the All Events standings (18 games total) will qualify for the Round-Robin Matchplay Masters finals over two blocks on October 27 and 28. The top 3 boys and top 3 girls will proceed to the Stepladder finals.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Manila.

Related stories:
Fifteen countries for 2017 Asian Youth
Participating Countries

 Quick Link
Video - Welcome Reception
Preliminary Schedule
Bulletin 1
Bulletin 2
Form A - Participation
Form B - Entry Form
Form C - Arrival & Dep.
Form D - Media Accred.
Form E - Shangri-la Hotel
Form F - Linden Suites
Form G - Bowlers' Info.
Form H - Supporters' Info.
Form J - Ball Registration
Previous Championships
Past Winners
Medal Statistics
Medium Oiling Pattern
Long Oiling Pattern
Participating Countries
Detailed Scores
 SINGLES (Long Oil)
Girl's Singles
Boy's Singles
 DOUBLES (Medium Oil)
Boy's Doubles
Girl's Doubles
 TEAM OF 4 (Medium/Long)
Girl's Team Blk1
Boy's Team Blk1
Girl's Team Blk2
Boy's Team Blk2
Girl's All Events
Boy's All Events
 MASTERS (Long/Medium)
Girl's Mstr Blk 1
Boy's Mstr Blk 1
Girl's Mstr Blk 2
Boy's Mstr Blk 2
Girl's Stepladder
Boy's Stepladder
Girl's Medal Tally
Boy's Medal Tally
Overall Medal Tally
Organized by
Hosted at
 Copyright © Asian Bowling Federation, 1998 - 2017. All Rights Reserved Hosted and maintained by Netmedia Services